Skip to main content
Tulane Home Tulane Home

Nationally Competitive Scholarship Recipients 2019-2020

Publication date

June 11, 2020 3:15 PM

The Honors Program congratulates all candidates who were recognized by nationally competitive scholarships this academic year.

Henry Walther, a junior from Lexington, Kentucky, majoring in political science and social policy and practice, has been named Tulane’s 15th Truman Scholar. Henry has been an active and socially-conscious leader in the Tulane and New Orleans communities. He revived the long-defunct College Democrats of Louisiana and mobilized the CDLA to increase voter turnout in Louisiana’s last gubernatorial race by contacting over 60,000 voters across the state He is also working on his authorized biography of former New Orleans mayor Moon Landrieu. As a sophomore, he was granted license by the Landrieu family to author the biography, which will tell the story of the mayor’s efforts in the 1970s to integrate city hall and social institutions and transfer power to the New Orleans black community. The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 to be the nation’s living memorial to President Harry S. Truman. The Foundation’s mission is to select and support the next generation of public service leaders. This award is one of the most prestigious national scholarships in the United States. Recipients receive a $30,000 scholarship for graduate study and participate in professional development programming to help prepare them for careers in public service leadership.

Eight Tulane students and recent graduates were awarded grants by the US Department of State’s Fulbright US Student Program to serve as English teaching assistants or conduct independent research abroad. The Fulbright US Student Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. This year’s Fulbright Grantees are:

Brianne Ard: English Teaching Assistantship in Romania

Mike Ellis (PhD Candidate, Environmental Biology): Research in Ecuador

Natalie Ellis (Master’s, Public Health): Research in Honduras

Madeline MacLaughlin: English Teaching Assistant in the Slovak Republic

Celia Mayne: Research in India

Isabel Morford-Chaibub: English Teaching Assistantship in Palestinian Territories

Adrianne Nelson (PhD Candidate, Public Health): Research in the Dominican Republic

Johana Teigen: Research in Sierra Leone

Kyla Denwood, an economics and international development student, was awarded a Gilman Scholarship to study abroad in the UK. This competitive award is administered by the U.S. Department of State and provides funds to study or intern abroad, thereby gaining skills critical to our national security and economic competitiveness.

Praveena Fernes, a graduate in the School of Public Health, is Tulane University’s 24th Marshall Scholar. The George C. Marshall Scholarship supports graduate study in the United Kingdom and selects American students of exceptional promise who show potential as leaders in their fields. Praveena will pursue a Master of Science degree at The School of Oriental and African Studies in Environment, Politics, and Development in her first year and a Master of Science degree at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine in Public Health in her second year.

Two Tulane affiliated candidates were recognized with Boren Awards, an initiative of the National Security Education Program, provide unique funding opportunities for U.S. undergraduate and graduate students to study less commonly taught languages in regions critical to U.S. interests, and underrepresented in study abroad programs. These include Africa, Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, Eurasia, Latin America, and the Middle East. In exchange for funding, Boren Scholars commit to working in the federal government for at least one year after graduation. This year’s recipients of Boren Awards are:

Lisa Radin, a rising junior in the Altman Program for International Studies and Business, will study Mandarin in China as a Boren Scholar.

Katherine Khamhaengwong, an alumna from the School of Liberal Arts, who has spent the past two years as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Georgia, will study Persian in Tajikistan as a Boren Fellow.

Kyla Denwood, Isabel-Morford Cheibub, and Lydia Woolley were awarded Critical Language Scholarships for Summer 2020. The Critical Language Scholarship (CLS) Program is a fully-funded summer overseas language and cultural immersion program for American undergraduate and graduate students administered by the US Department of State. With the goal of broadening the base of Americans studying and mastering critical languages and building relationships between the people of the United States and other countries, CLS provides opportunities to a diverse range of students from across the United States at every level of language learning. While the Critical Language Scholarship was suspended this summer due to COVID 19, we are proud that these students were recognized with this prestigious award.